Secrets of the Tombs


If you would like to find out more about the Secrets of the Tombs series, click here to go to the brand new website.


Book One
The Phoenix Code 



"When Ryan Flint accompanies his journalist mother to an archaeological expedition in Egypt's Valley of the Kings, he isn't expecting life-threatening danger and a 3,000-year-old murder mystery - but that's exactly what he finds! Before he knows it, he has joined forces with Cleo McNeil, an archaeologist's daughter, to solve secret codes, discover an ancient treasure and outwit a strange cult intent on gaining possession of the relic."

Can Ryan and Cleo unravel the mystery and solve the Phoenix Code before it's too late?

Indiana Jones meets THE DA VINCI CODE in this exciting new series for readers of 9+.


Book Two 
The Dragon Path 
A mysterious mission.
A deadly secret.
Can Ryan and Cleo survive the Dragon Path?

Ryan Flint and Cleo McNeil are heading to China with their parents to examine an archaeological site. But when Cleo's grandmother tells them about a secret that haunts her past, they're plunged into a new mystery.
Ryan thought he'd used up a lifetime's supply of adventure - now he's surrounded by fire-breathing dragons, ancient poisons and an army of terracotta warriors! Sometimes, just staying alive is an adventure . . .





Book Three
The Serpent King


Perfect for fans of Indiana Jones and Percy Jackson, this third exciting installment in Helen Moss' Secrets of the Tombs series follows Ryan and Cleo on another death-defying mission.
Can Ryan and Cleo uncover the secrets of the tombs and solve the mystery before it's too late?



The Phoenix Code: Reviews

Guardian Best Kids' Books Supplement
There's a fast-moving plot, plenty of cliff-hangers and unexpected bad-guys, with humour provided by interplay between happy-go-lucky Ryan and nerdy Chloe in this engaging, informative ancient historical mystery.
Booktrust
(for the full review, click here)
 A thrilling mystery story which crackles with tension as the secrets of a tomb that has closed for 3000 is about to be opened.
 Julia Eccleshare, LoveReading4Kids
(for the full review, click here) 

It’s a children’s version of the adult historical treasure thrillers à la Dan Brown/Steve Berry type (and I mean that in the best possible way – great plots, edge of the seat suspense), and it’s every bit as exciting and very well-written . . . draws the reader in from page one and once I’d started, I didn’t want to put the book down. It sizzles along with never a dull moment, and the reader can’t help but like the two young protagonists and root for them as they try to outwit the (adult) villains.
Historical Novel Society
(For full review, click here)

A perfect setting for this, the first in a new series of thrillers which combines intriguing landscapes, archaeology and adventure . . . In Ryan and Cleo she has created two delightful characters with whom readers will readily identify. Ryan, a gifted artist and cartoonist, makes friends easily with everyone . . . Their consequent misunderstandings and worries form a gently amusing framework to the main action, lightening moments of tension and providing useful life lessons. Guys – never make a joke about a girl's name, for example!
 . . .  It is definitely a book for both boys and girls, and really should not be missed by any fan of history or adventure: it is excellent! 
Five stars!
The Bookbag
(for the full review, click here)

This book is even better than the Adventure Island series and it is such a page-turner. It is as exciting and fun to read, but it is also interesting and you learn about Ancient Egypt. I think the characters are good for the book because Cleo is quite sensible and serious and Ryan is quite funny and artistic so they make a good team.
I would recommend this book to boys and girls who have read the Adventure Island books and who are 7 to 10 years old.

 SuperBen, Guardian Children's Books Reader Reviews
A sure fire candidate for adventure book of the year this was a compelling read for any fan of Adventure Island who has got a bit older. Ryan & Cleo were brilliant lead characters and all their families and other cast were likeable and more importantly believable. I loved the fact that much of this adventure was based on fact and was also educational without being too serious.
This book was a real page turner and the plot was so clever you couldn't put it down until the villians were revealed. It kept me guessing to the end and I can't wait for the sequel

An utterly amazing 10/10

 Amy Smith (12), Daily Record magazine

This is, without a shadow of a doubt, my favourite mystery book ever, with one of the most unguessable plots ever.  As soon as I bought it I read it three times in a row I liked it so much!
Jed Owens, Young reader.
For Jed's Top Ten Mystery Books click here 
The Dragon Path: Reviews

I loved this book because it is adventurous and mysterious. The characters are interesting and unique. Ryan is artistic and funny, Cleo has no sense of direction and is very literal, but together they make a fantastic team!
I would recommend this book to children 8-11 who like books by Enid Bylton, JK Rowling and Caroline Lawrence, but you should definitely read the first Secret of the Tombs book, The Phoenix Code, first.
SuperBen, Guardian Children's Book site.

This is one of those brilliant books where likeable young people who are so real they could be in your class at school get to wander around the most amazing places on earth. There are thrills and danger at every turn, but along the way, and quite without noticing it, the reader finds out all kinds of cool stuff, like the fabulous treasures emperors stashed in their tombs for the afterlife, and what revolutionaries tucked inside their mooncakes. You discover how Louis XIV and Napoleon communicated safely with their allies, and why some Chinese people avoid certain numbers. But the book is, first and foremost, a rip-roaring, white-knuckle quest, and should definitely be top of the list for holiday reading this summer, whether you're curled up in the back garden on a deckchair, or yachting in the Caribbean.

 The Bookbag
For full review click here

The Serpent King: Reviews 

This book was an amazing piece of fiction. It was full of adventure and drama. This book is on my favourite list!
Primary Times, Alex's Reviews
Very reminiscent of Indiana Jones for a younger audience ... it's an exciting read and the female characters are as brave and clever as the males so it would appeal to both boys and girls - a great read for lovers of quest computer games and would-be explorers.
The School Librarian